Updates Dec 19…

OK. Last update I told you that I was thinking of what direction to take this site and this has taken me longer than expected, due to work and other obligations. My thought is to try to take a look back at some historical points in jazz here in Denver and other places throughout Colorado. Not necessarily historical from the point of major significance to the jazz world as a whole, but to give some light to past venues, labels etc. Again as the title of this blog, this too is part of the adventures in jazz. Discovering both new and old things, artists, places of the jazz scene here in this city.

The thought came to me driving home from work while listening to KUVO 89.3. They had played “More or Less Four” by the Hal Galper Trio.

This recording was from a “Live at Vartan Jazz” cd. Vartan Jazz was a venue here in Denver in a couple of locations during the mid 90s from what I’ve been able to gather so far, but it was also a recording label, owned and operated by Vartan Tonoian.

So I’m in the process of doing more research on Vartan Jazz and Mr. Tonoian to be presented here soon. Of course I will put together something on the Rossonian Hotel in Denver’s Five Points district soon as well possibly some other ideas I have in my head. So stay with me as we continue on more adventures in jazz.

I just recently updated the festivals page for 2013. A lot of festivals, do not have confirmed dates yet, but there are a few that do, so check it out. As I get information on confirmed dates I will update them.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑